What’s LOVE Got to Do With It


Fine and Dandy

What’s LOVE Got to Do With It

Putting your thoughts on paper is therapeutic when faced with difficult and trying times, so I ask that you bear with me as I express my joy and sorrow. I trust that after you read this your outlook on life as well as your purpose for living will be changed for the better.

I have spent the last 2 weeks in a family waiting room at the University of Virginia Medical Center, waiting and watching as 3 of the people I love the most are suffering. I am blessed with having lived my life under the umbrella of a very close knit family, and now I have to help hold this umbrella up. My grandparents have had more influence on my life than any other persons on this planet, and are loved by more people than I can count. Their daily walk with Christ has allowed them to touch the lives of so many people in their 80+ years on earth, and now that love is being reciprocated by so many people. This has become personal for me these last 2 weeks as I watch a steady stream of visitors come in and out of the waiting room, as well as answering the waiting room phone and providing constant updates of the condition of my personal hero and role model.

Please allow me to introduce you to someone near to my heart who exemplifies the spirit of   giving and has given freely of his time while facing physical adversity.

My uncle, Kevin Ferrier, was born in 1958 with a handicap, as he was born with his umbilical cord around his neck. The lack of oxygen to his brain may have affected his motor skills, but it has not impaired his ability to touch the heart and lives of EVERY individual he meets. When asked how he is doing, he almost always replies “Fine and Dandy”(except when snowed in and unable to help at the Moose or volunteer at the bowling alley), and his spirits are lifted through the giving of his time to others. His work is confirmed through his recognitions and volunteer work throughout the community of Waynesboro.

Kevin graduated in 1978 with the 1st special education class at Waynesboro High School, and began a life of serving others that has continued to today. He has volunteered with the YMCA youth basketball league and was chosen volunteer of the month for his work. He was recognized on several occasions for his volunteer work with the Special Olympics. He ran the scoreboard for the Waynesboro Generals for many years, and still pulls for the “home team”. He kept score for so many little league, farm league, and church softball teams that we have lost count. He is loved and known at the Waynesboro Va bowling alley for his tireless efforts and assistance in their league play. Ask anyone who visits the Waynesboro Moose and they will tell you tales of his work in assisting their fundraising efforts and civic work. Visit the Blue Ridge Church of Christ on Sunday mornings and you will be greeted by Kevin, handed a program, and receive help finding a seat for the worship service. He currently volunteers 4 mornings a week at the Waynesboro library, and is a constant at the Waynesboro Moose Lodge where he serves on the board and has been Legionnaire of the Month on 2 occasions.

When I decided to write about Kevin I had knowledge of his service through my childhood memories of his involvement with little league baseball and church softball teams, but I never stopped to consider how many lives he has touched through his smile and service. There are those people on this earth that have been blessed with the ability to spread this magic through their loving interaction with others. It is this action that makes this world a great place to live, and I am blessed to have witnessed this magic in action through the life of this special person.

Now as we sit in the waiting room awaiting a miracle, my grandparents are faced with the most difficult decision any should ever have to make. To live or not to live, that is the question. You see Kevin has had a recent history of seizures, but the one he suffered 2 weeks ago left him laying in the floor overnight, and the lack of brain activity resulted in a stroke, his liver and kidneys shutting down, a stress related heart attack, fluid on his lungs, swelling and hemorrhaging of his brain and the loss of his right side.

Anyone who knows Kevin (and there are MANY) knows that Kevin never sits still. Even if he is watching his favorite baseball team (NY Yankees) on TV he still flips channels to watch 3+ shows at the same time. If he is listening to his favorite gospel cd, you will hear his feet stomping the floor keeping time to the music. Never stopping, never resting, until now.

Now he lays motionless in a hospital bed, and except for 1 day in which he was awake and alert he has not moved. While the doctors and staff are wonderful, they have no definitive answers, solutions, or long term prognosis. I tell you all of this to get to this.

My countless hours in this waiting room have taught me the most valuable lesson of my life. It doesn’t matter WHO you are, rather what matters the most is HOW you treat others. It matters how you first interact with those you meet, how you continue to treat them, what you do for them, and the WHY must be a core belief that OTHERS matter more to you than you matter to yourself.

Kevin exemplifies Christ in EVERY aspect of his life, every day of his life. This is evidenced in the constant visitation, phone calls from concerned people that we have never met, and the full mailbox everyday when I take my grandparents home. There are so many cards and letters just waiting for Kevin to read, that if one did not know better they would think he was a Hollywood movie star.

Now, I have resolved to live my life in such a fashion that everyone I meet walks away feeling better about themselves, and that they know that God is real and loves them. You see we live in such a politically correct nation that it is difficult or intimidating to express how we truly feel. That is something Kevin never had to worry about, he was always “Fine & Dandy”. I now understand that if you are what you believe that you will never need to tell people how you feel, they will know by your smile, hugs, & hand shake. That example will peak the interest of people you meet and they will WANT what you have. JOY. Do not confuse joy with happiness, as happiness is based in feelings, joy is based in your knowing that God is in control and no matter what happens, he cares for you.

We often become discouraged because things do not go our way. Maybe you did not get the job/ promotion you wanted, your favorite team does not win, your car breaks down…, but if you have JOY none of these superficial and material things matter. If you live your life for the betterment of your fellowman, you will always be like Kevin, “Fine & Dandy”.

So I challenge you to take a good look at yourself in the mirror, & contrary to popular opinion tell yourself that YOU do not matter, rather WHAT you do with your time is most important. Call that long lost friend & see how they are doing, hug a friend or family member for no reason other than you love them, tell your spouse you love them OFTEN, visit a sick or widowed person, take a neighbor to dinner & get to know them, and if you have children; hug them tightly, love them unconditionally, cherish every moment they breathe for tomorrow may never come

God Bless you all.

15 Comments

Filed under Family Matters

15 responses to “What’s LOVE Got to Do With It

  1. Mary Trammell

    Very motivational and inspirational!! It was a pleasure getting to meet you…

  2. Karla Campbell

    I’ve known Kevin since he was born and he has always been an awesome person and great inspiration. He has blessed my life and the lives of all who had the opportunity of knowing him. Thank you for writing and sharing this. Our hearts and prayers are with you all.

  3. Karla Campbell

    Dear Rod,
    Thank you for sharing these very personal reflections about Kevin’s life. You described him beautifully. He was such a blessing to us all. How in the world are we going to know what to do on Sunday mornings? He knew everything that was going on and coordinated it all.
    I grew up on River Road and have many fond memories of our childhood together. Kevin has always been one of my favorite people and when I married Lanny , we became family. Our prayers are with you all.

  4. Jackie

    I attend Blue Ridge Church of Christ. Kevin is such a big part of our church. It has always been a great day when you come in on Sunday morning and see Kevin keeping everything in order with that wonderful smile on his face. He is a special person!

  5. Dewey Hensley

    Rod,
    Thank You for sharing this message about Kevin. He has truly touched many lives through the years. He always looked at things in a positive light. I can remember being with Kevin through out our years as kids at West Waynesboro Church of Christ in Sunday School and during VBS, and then as we got older and moved over to Blue Ridge, Kevin kept all of us ushers and communion servers in line making sure we knew when and where we needed to be, the last few weeks things have not gone as smooth as when Kevin was with us. Kevin always had a smile for all and caring heart.
    It always amazed me how he could be in so many places in one day he had a network of people who could get him from one function to the next.
    Kevin will be missed in many places and in many ways.
    Our sympathy goes out to Bill & Patsy and the rest of the Family.
    Kevin is now in Heaven walking the streets of Gold and everything is FINE & DANDY for Kevin.

  6. amy kennedy

    hello cousin rod..its been to long, aunt marsha told me about what you had written, i just wanted to say its beautiful and touching, and i know your uncle kevin would be proud!much love, amy

  7. Sharon Smith

    I have known Kevin since middle school (1970’s) and also knew him from the Moose and baseball games. I have given him rides from ball fields to the moose. We will all miss him very much. Whenever he saw me, he would hurry over to me and ask “How’s Miss Sharon? Are you keeping everybody straight?” And I would ask how he was. He always said “Fine and dandy.”

    I will always consider it a blessing to have known Keving. He was a truly good person with a heart of gold.

    God bless you all,
    Sharon

  8. Ross Bretches

    Rod,

    Thank you for your words. I haven’t thought of Kevin for a long time, but I remember him well. He used to sit next to my stepdad Warren Coleman while he did radio for the Generals on WAYB (maybe for “WAYBack!!). He was always in our dugouts during little league and babe ruth games. I’d almost always see him at the art shows in the fall. You are right. Kevin was ALWAYS smiling and positive. I will always remember him for that

  9. I just heard the news about Kevin. My heart is sad..but I know that he is “fine and dandy” with the Lord. I havent lived in Waynesboro for years now, I did live there for 10 years and was a member of the moose there. I remember well, the gentle, happy, giving, man in the article above just as he is described. My prayers to the family…God Bless you all and I am sorry for your loss.

  10. Marsha Taylor

    Rod,
    Rod,
    This story is such a beautiful tribute. I have great childhood memories of Kevin and the fun times our families spent together. He was such bright spirit and will always be fondly remembered by everyone he met. I hope these wonderful memories bring you and your family comfort.
    Love,
    Marsha

  11. Tim Owens

    I think that each day when I awake I will think to myself ” I’m fine and dandy” very well put Kevin

  12. Donna Carter

    Kevin will be missed very much.I first met Kevin in Jr High School,he was always smiling and when asked how are you doing today he would respond fine and dandy.I would see Kevin at the Bowling Alley when my son would bowl and he would be just busy helping any way he could.I dont think he ever met anyone he didnt like or didnt like him.Kevin will never be forgotten.

  13. Suzy Hodge

    You said it all so well. Wouldn’t he have loved to have that read to him. Thanks so much for sharing it on here with all of us. I knew that he did a lot at the Moose but didn’t know he wore so many other hats. I can still hear his crackley voice when he came to see you after you were born. He was so proud of you! I’m so glad you only have to say goodbye for a while. Didn’t he pass away on your birthday? Love you, Suzy

    • Thank you all for such kind and memorable words. I knew that Kevin was special and touched many lives, and to see and hear such loving stories adds comfort to our family. His parents, my grandparents, read these remarks and are so touched and encouraged by the loving expressions written here.

      While he did go home to Heaven on my birthday, I count it a blessing to share his passing with the date of my birth. I look forward to seeing his welcoming smile when I enter those Heavenly gates and pray to be greeted with a “welcome home to this fine and dandy place”.

      Love you all!

  14. martha serrett

    Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful touching story.I so agree with you about Kevin a wonderful kind,giving,loving man that he was.God gave all of us a gift when he out Kevin on this earth.I have a wonderful family that i cherish everyday and i am thankful for.But your story is amazing and was meant to be told thank you and may God Bless you and your family always.Our loss but HEAVENS gain.

Leave a comment